mensa logo


Mensa International has a Constitution which sets out the purpose and infrastructure of Mensa. There are three aims:

  • to identify and foster human intelligence for the benefit of humanity;
  • to encourage research into the nature, characteristics, and uses of intelligence; and
  • to provide a stimulating intellectual and social environment for its members.

Each country has its own national Mensa constitution, which is based on Mensa's Minimum Constitutional Requirements, the document that lays out the basic requirements for all national Mensas, although national legal requirements take precedence, of course. The Mensa Constitution is the over-arching document that governs all national Mensa groups.

You can view the Mensa Constitution here.


The ruling body of Mensa International is the International Board of Directors, known as the IBD. It is composed of representatives (usually the chairperson, but sometime a proxy appointed by the chairperson) from each full National Mensa, and four internationally-elected officers, along with a fifth officer elected by the IBD itself. Some countries have more than one National Representative.

The IBD includes a smaller Executive Committee (ExComm), which is responsible for the day-to-day functioning of Mensa International.

The ExComm includes the four members of the IBD who are elected internationally by the membership: the International Chairman, Director of Administration, the Treasurer and the Director of Development. An IBD-elected officer, the Director of Small National Mensas, is also included, along with the chairs of the largest National Mensas (currently American Mensa, British Mensa and Mensa Germany).

International Chairman

Bjorn Liljeqvist

International Director - Administration

Isabella Holz

International Director - Administration

Isabella Holz

International Treasurer

Rudi Challupner

International Director - Development

Bibiána Balanyi

International Director - Smaller National Mensas

Mark Dettinger

Executive Committees

Peter Fröhler

Larae Bakerink

Chris Leek